top of page
  • Writer's pictureTim Bradford

Bi-polar Weather Patterns

The weather is manic depressive at the moment – one day sunny smiley and full of possibilties, the next storm grey with sheets of rain and howling wind. A few days ago I built a little dry stone wall next to the kitchen – as protection against the westerly winds blowiing in from the Atlantic – and put some herbs in pots. Now the wind direction has changed to South Easterly and has stayed that way – looks like I’ll have to move the wall. But I know that as soon as I do that the wind will change again.

When I walk down the lane with the wheelie bin towards the coast road crossroads the temperature rises as I enter a little valley. There are primroses growing in the grass verge and bluebells have started to appear underneath the hedgerows. The primroses are beautiful flowers but their colour reminds me of lemon curd so I can’t stare at them for too long. I’m still learning about the optimum position for the wheelie bin that I have to leave at the crossroads every Wednesday morning. I’m worried that the wind will blow it over and cause injury to someone. The lid keeps flying up so I turned it round but the wind seems to follow my actions at the moment and changes almost immediately to flip the lid of the bin again.

I have work to do later on today, moving soil from near the gorse hill to the front of the house so we can build a rockery. As I sit and look out of the window of my study it looks like a spring day. I know that as soon as I put my head out of the door there will be a freezing hurricane.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It’s A Beautiful Day

I’ve written before about rain. About how it makes me feel alive. Today the rain was beating down, propelled by cold gusts of wind that...

Crap Snow

It starts to snow. My youngest son has been waiting all year for this. “Ha ha ha!” he shouts, looking out of the window. He’s already in...

Comments


bottom of page