top of page
  • Writer's pictureTim Bradford

Saluting magpies on a sunny morning

“Hello Mr Magpie!” I whispered, as I reached the north eastern sector of Clissold Park. Why do I do this? I used to think it was kind of commercial TV brainwashing from the 1970s kids show (Magpie was presented by ex-hippies). But apparently it goes back even further than the 70s, to our fear of the devil or some celtic deity.

Some interpretations of the myth here.

However, I’m convinced that it’s something to do with leprechauns.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Walking My Neighbour’s Dog

A few weeks ago I started walking my neighbour’s dog. The neighbour is ill and can’t do the long walks at the moment. For a while the neighbour was in hospital and the dog lived with us. The kids were

bottom of page