top of page
  • Writer's pictureTim Bradford

‘Never Let Her Slip Away’

This morning I was sitting on the top deck of a no. 19 bus. Around Highbury Corner the conductor started to whistle the tune to Andrew Gold’s ‘Never Let Her Slip Away’. He whistled it from there all the way to where I got off near to the old Penny Black pub on Exmouth Market/Rosebery Avenue (can’t remember what it’s called now – something like Le Cafe Pretentious). I said to him “I haven’t heard Andrew Gold’s ‘Never Let Her Slip Away’ for about 20 years. Cheers for that.”

“Was it by Andrew Gold?” he said. “I just know the tune. I had no idea who it was by.”

“You should listen to it and learn to whistle the intro. It’s got these lovely off the beat organ chrods.”

“Thanks, I will,” he said.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Underground Jazz

Walking along the corridors at Holborn Tube I hear some comforting clarinet/alto saxophone jazz sounds wafting along and bouncing off the walls. It sort of reminds me of being in London in the late 19

bottom of page